Article Image Alt Text

Voters Go To Polls Tuesday

District 1 voters, which includes residents of Marshall, Day, and Roberts Counties and a portion of Brown County, will decide races for the South Dakota House and Senate when they head to the polls for the general election on Tuesday.

There are no races on the ballot for just Marshall County. Polls will be open in the county from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

There have been a large number of absentee ballots cast this year prior to Nov. 3. County Auditor Megan Biel said that as of Tuesday afternoon a total of 891 absentee ballots had been requested and 771 had already been turned in. Absentee ballots must be received by 3 p .m. on Nov. 3 to be counted.

Incumbent Democratic Senator Susan Wismer of Britton is running against Republican challenger Michael Rohl of rural Brown County for the lone Senate spot. Three candidates are running for two positions in the South Dakota House – Democratic incumbent Steven McCleerey of Sisseton, Republican incumbent Tamara St. John of Sisseton, and Democratic challenger Jennifer Healy Keintz of Eden.

The race for U.S. President heads the national ticket with Republican President Donald Trump seeking re-election to a second four-year term against former Democratic Vice-President Joe Biden and Libertarian candidate Jo Jorgensen.

Incumbent U.S. Senator Mike Rounds is running against Democratic challenger Dan Ahlers for a Senate seat, and incumbent U.S. Representative Dusty Johnson is running against Libertarian candidate Randy “Uriah” Luallin.

There are three candidates for a spot on the Public Utilities Commission. They include Republican incumbent Gary Hanson, Democrat Rebi W.B. Bald Eagle, and Libertarian Devin Saxon.

Voters will also be asked to retain or not retain Supreme Court Justice Steven Jensen.

Two constitutional amendments and one initiated measure will be on the ballot.

Constitutional Amendment A would change the constitution to legalize recreational marijuana for individuals at least 21 years of age. Constitutional Amendment B would allow sports wagering in Deadwood.

Initiated Measure 26 would establish a medical marijuana program in South Dakota for individuals who have a debilitating medical condition as certified by a physician.

Marshall County Journal

PO Box 69, Britton, SD 57430
Phone: (605) 448-2281
Fax: (605) 448-2282