Kermit Pearson, left, of Lake City was presented with the SD Cooperative Hall of Fame award from James Ryken, East River Electric’s board president.

Pearson Hall Of Famer

Two men –Kermit Pearson of Lake City and Dale Locken of Akaska – were inducted into the South Dakota Cooperative Hall of Fame during the Co-op Month Banquet and Induction Ceremony Sept. 11 in Deadwood.

Induction into the South Dakota Cooperative Hall of Fame is the highest honor that the cooperative community can bestow on those whose endeavors in the cause of the cooperative form of enterprise have been genuinely heroic.

First elected to the Lake Region Electric Association board of directors in 1980, Kermit Pearson has spent the last 38 years as a dedicated leader of electric cooperatives. In 1989, Pearson was selected to represent LREA on the East River Electric Power Cooperative board and from there, in 1997, he became East River Electric’s voice on the Basin Electric Power Cooperative board. In 2013, he was selected to represent Basin Electric Power Cooperative on the South Dakota Rural Electric Association board of directors.

Lake Region Electric is a local distribution electric cooperative providing electricity to members in Day, Marshall and a portion of Roberts Counties. Lake Region Electric receives power from East River Electric based in Madison, SD, and Basin Electric Power Cooperative based in Bismarck, ND. All South Dakota electric cooperatives are represented by South Dakota Rural Electric Association based in Pierre, SD.

Under Pearson’s leadership, LREA, East River and Basin Electric have engaged in innovative and visionary programs to best serve their members. He works to ensure that decisions made at the Basin Electric level are in the best interest for the regional East River Electric membership and local Lake Region Electric membership.

“He embraces and promotes the new innovations that benefit the membership,” wrote LREA manager Tim McIntyre. “...his commitment to community and the membership shines as he inspires development and growth within each community.”

Pearson owns the Pearson Gelbvieh Cattle Company in partnership with his brother, Neal, on land that their grandfather homesteaded in the early 1900’s east of Britton. He is a graduate of SDSU.

The South Dakota Cooperative Hall of Fame provides recognition for a person contributing in especially significant ways to the enhancement of the cooperative idea, its broader acceptance or to the substantial advancement of cooperative enterprise in any of its various forms.

Marshall County Journal

PO Box 69, Britton, SD 57430
Phone: (605) 448-2281
Fax: (605) 448-2282