Medhaug Re-Elected Chairman

Serving For Ninth Straight Year

Commissioner Doug Medhaug of Veblen was reelected for the ninth consecutive year to serve as chairman of the Marshall County Commission when the board reorganized at its January meeting last week Tuesday.

Matt Schuller of Britton was elected vice-chairman. He replaces Paul Symens who declined to seek re-election after serving on the board for the past eight years.

New board member Kevin Jones did not face any opposition in the general election and was sworn in for a four-year term.

Board appointments included Jones, Ron Jarrett, Mike Nelson, and Hans Nelson, Weed Board; Medhaug, Glacial Lakes Association; LeRon Knebel, Marshall County Healthcare Center Board; Schuller, GLAD Board; Knebel and Schuller, Marshall Regional Railroad Authority Board; and Lynda Luttrell and Jones, Northeast Council of Governments.

Committee assignments include Knebel, Ehren Grupe, Karole Chapin, Vicki Renner, Jennifer Carlson, Rhonda Hardina, Stephanie Brandt, Ashley Hagen, Kordell Feldhaus, and Weston Henschel, Promotion and Expansion Committee; all coimmission members, Zoning Board, County Buildings, and Drainage Board; Sheila Sutton, Northeast Mental Health Board; and Medhaug and Schuller, Emergency Management.

The Britton Journal and Langford Bugle were designated as official newspapers for the county. Mortgage foreclosure sites were designated.

Salaries for county employees, per diem rates, and mileage rates are listed in the Jan. 8 meeting minutes printed in the Public Notices section of this week’s paper.

Tobin Morris of Dougherty & Company met with the board to introduce himself and his company. Dougherty & Company would provide assistance with the financial planning, bond issuance, election, and publication portion of building a new Law Enforcement Center/ Courthouse.

Dale Severson of Maxwell Electric met with the board to present a plan for replacing the furnaces in the Community Building. The plan would replace one furnace every year for four years. Commissioners asked that Severson look further into the system to see if fewer furnaces could be used and report back to the board.

Emergency Manager Todd Landmark presented his quarterly report and discussed the Alert Sense system that would allow the county to send out notifications to individual’s phones.

The board discussed two properties in Veblen owned by the county and decided to hire EE Rein Construction of Veblen to tear down the buildings on the properties and dispose of them.

Highway Secretary Sandy Dinger reported that state engineers are still trying to come up with a way to get lighting to the intersection of the county highway and the railroad tracks between Britton and Horton, Inc. north of town. The county will be notified once a plan has been determined and the project will be put up for bids. The state still hopes to complete the project this year.

Dinger also reported that the state has extended the date for township maps to be submitted for the new signage project in the county. Under the terms of the agreement with the SD Department of Transportation the overall completion date has changed to June, 5, 2020.

Fuel quotes for #1 diesel were accepted from DaMar elevator for the Eden and Langford shops and from Holland Bros. Oil for the Veblen shop. The board also approved a retail (on-sale) liquor license for China Town, and raised the clothing allowance to $200 per year for dispatchers.

An executive session to discuss personnel matters was held for one hour and 46 minutes.

The next meeting of the board will be Tuesday at 9 a.m. at the Courthouse. Agenda items include zoning, highway, Johnson Controls will talk to the board about heating/ cooling at the Courthouse, legislative audit, and the Veterans Service Officer’s quarterly report.

Marshall County Journal

PO Box 69, Britton, SD 57430
Phone: (605) 448-2281
Fax: (605) 448-2282