MC Voters Follow State Lead

2018 Primary Election Winners

Marshall County Republican voters went along with the state of South Dakota in picking Kristi Noem to run for governor in November and Dusty Johnson to run for the U.S. House spot.

Noem will take on Democrat Billie Sutton and Libertarian Carl Abernathy in November, while Johnson will meet Democrat Timothy Bjorkman and Libertarian George Hendrickson.

With 88 percent of the vote counted Tuesday night Noem held a 58-42 percent edge over Marty Jackley.

Johnson had a solid 48 percent of the vote with Shantel Krebs getting 28 percent and Neal Tapio 24 percent.

On the local level county Democrats elected long-time Sheriff Dale Elsen to run against Republican Cody Sunderland in the general election. Elsen topped challenger Ethan Wade 491-93.

Democrats also elected Susan Wismer of Britton to the South Dakota Senate in a three-way primary race. There is no Republican opposition in November. Wismer tallied a whopping 85 percent of the vote, compared to nine percent for Thomas Bisek, and six percent for Allison Renville.

Democrats picked two of three candidates for the two District 1 S.D. House race to run against Republican Tamara St. John of Sisseton in November. Former legislator H. Paul Dennert of Columbia received 47 percent of the vote, incumbent Steven McCleerey of Sisseton 35 percent, and Robert Whitmyre of Webster 18 percent.

Britton voters in Ward 1 also voted for a position on the City Council. Ward Satterlee received 79 votes, compared to 43 for Travis Santistevan. After the filing date Santistevan decided to take a job offer in Wyoming and would not have been available to serve on the board.

Marshall County voters also agreed with the state-wide tally approving Amendment Y. A total of 789 county residents voted yes on the amendment and 234 voted no. The amendment provides a fix for the unintended consequences that sprang up when voters approved Marsy’s Law in 2016.

A total of only 15.4 percent of eligible South Dakota voters went to the polls, while 39.2 percent of Marshall County voters cast ballots.

Marshall County Journal

PO Box 69, Britton, SD 57430
Phone: (605) 448-2281
Fax: (605) 448-2282