Article Image Alt Text
Article Image Alt Text

It was a first for the Langford Area School on Saturday – prom in July. The event, postponed from April due to COVID-19, was Hanna Miller. At right is Senior Class President Ady Dwight held in the school gym on Saturday with a Grand March held outside. At left is Junior Class President Bryce Peterson escorting escorted by Colin Frey. (Photos by Kent Erickson)

LA Graduation Saturday

Fourteen Langford Area seniors will finally receive diplomas on Saturday, two months later than originally planned.

The school was among many in the state and around the country that delayed graduation ceremonies due to the COVID-19 pandemic with the hope that they could be a “normal” as possible. Langford Area’s graduation had originally been scheduled for May 16.

Spectators will be allowed for the 2 p.m. ceremony in the Langford Area gymnasium. The school has put a number of safety measures in place due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Hand sanitizer will be available, attendees will be invited to seat themselves appropriately distanced from others, anyone showing symptoms of COVID-19 or has a known exposure to COVID-19 needs to stay home, and individuals at higher risk for complication from the virus are encouraged to view the live-streamed event on the school’s Facebook page. The number of attendees at the graduation ceremony will not be limited.

The graduation ceremony can also be viewed at a later date for Venture Communications television customers using the “On Demand” menu.

Honor students Adyson Dwight, Ashley Gustafson, Chesney Olson, Brooklin Kreger, and Nicolas Alvarez will be commencement speakers.

Other members of the graduating class are Cody Blanchard, Jeremiah Hurst, Boston Marlow, Elizabeth Olson, Jacob Punt, Breanna Schock, Gabriel Smith, Bailey Widener, and Timothy Wika.

There will be no band or choir selections as in the past. The program will include a welcome from Senior Class President Adyson Dwight, Recognition of Honor Students by retiring principal Toni Brown, Presentation of the Langford Endowment Scholarships by Superintendent Monte Nipp, and Awarding of Diplomas by retiring Board President David Planteen. Seniors will also present roses to their parents.

Nipp will present plaques to Brown for his service to the district as a teacher, principal, and athletic director; to Planteen for his 16 years on the Board of Education; and to Lisa Olson for her 11 years serving on the School Board.

The motto for the Class of 2020 is appropriate for this unusual year – “We Finish To Begin.” Class colors are maroon and white and the class flower is the white carnation.

Marshall County Journal

PO Box 69, Britton, SD 57430
Phone: (605) 448-2281
Fax: (605) 448-2282